Introducing the Real Miss-Mel

Born in Florida, raised in New Jersey (South Jersey – this is important), residing in Tennessee. Contradictions? Maybe. Does it work? Yes. Am I normal? No.

Born to a Tennessean father and a Floridian mother, I am the youngest of three girls – the youngest by nine years.  I am also the youngest grandchild on both sides of the family – again, this is important – and a topic for another post (or two). My roots are southern and my heart is northeastern.  I am a bizarre combination of southern charm and South Jersey attitude.  My accent can transform as fast as I can answer a phone call from one of my BFFs from Jersey. My name also changes.

Let me break it down for you… Name #1: Missy/Miss – anyone who knew me preceding 1997 refuses to call me by my given name. Name #2: Melisa – the name on my birth certificate, my given name, my preferred name, the name most of my “new” friends call me… that is until my “old” friends and family get in their heads and repeat MissyMissyMissy. Enter my third and newest name – Mel. There are only a few that call me by this name. My husband endearingly refers to me as Mel, as well as a few of my “new” friends.

So here is a quick synopsis of who I am – there is plenty of time to get to know me and I wouldn’t want this intro to be a spoiler of what’s to come.  So here it is in a nutshell: I am a mother, stepmother, wife, grandmother (yeah – I am a super young and totally cool grandma – again, subject for another post), daughter, sister, aunt, niece, friend, co-worker, school health coordinator.  I love my three children and two grandsons beyond words and my husband is my best friend. I believe in living life to the fullest and I love to travel.  Pizza and beer are… PIZZA and BEER – do I really need to say more? I have not eaten beef or pork in 25 years – but I do not judge those who have different dietary choices than I do. I am a runner. I live on the lake and love to boat. I could chill on the dock with a cold beverage for hours.  I adore the beach. I currently have four dogs and two cats – they adopted me.

IMG_5310

Shadow and I enjoying the lake

So, now that I have introduced myself, you are most likely asking why I am starting this blog. Simple answer: I love to write, I love to talk, I love to travel and share my experiences… basically I love life and new adventures and want to share it with the world! Am I an expert in anything? Not really. Does it matter? I hope not because you will be deeply disappointed.

3 thoughts on “Introducing the Real Miss-Mel

Leave a Reply

